Unmarried Widow Gathering

because you lived 'til death do we part

Let's talk about it.

Being an unmarried widow, you may feel overlooked. Their parents lost a child; their siblings lost a best friend, and you go unseen because you weren’t a spouse. Sadly, even therapists leave off the “unmarried widow” box when filling out forms for grief sessions.

As someone who’s lived the “until death do we part,” it’s heartbreaking to have your loss devalued because you weren’t married. For you, this might have meant being left out of funeral plans, not deciding what things of theirs was kept, or feeling deeply misunderstood.

My name is Ashley, and six years ago, I joined the unmarried widows’ club. Well, that’s not 100% correct. I did become an unmarried widow, but there weren’t any clubs that I could’ve joined.

And if you’ve read my story, you know that I’m a two-time veteran at this thing.

I’ve buried a soulmate, learned to cope, battled the fear and anxiety of dating after loss, then got engaged only to become widowed a second time. So, I understand the unwed soulmate journey.

Because of this, I’m hosting a gathering for people experiencing partner loss. Whether you were dating, engaged, or checking off “it’s complicated,” you belong here.

We will gather virtually to share our woes, unique challenges, and meet other people like us. 

Grief is a difficult and lonely journey. It feels even more isolating when many cannot relate to your experience or think it can be cured by quickly “finding someone else.” At our gathering, you won’t find that. 

You’ll meet people who “get it” and not just because they’ve lost someone. But because they’re an unmarried widow like you too.

When is it? It's virtual.

There will be two gatherings to accommodate people’s schedules and time zones. The event is 1-hour long. I’ll hang out a little after if anyone has personal questions.

Gathering One: Wednesday, April 20, 2022:

11:00 a.m. PST Los Angeles | 2:00 p.m. EST New York | 7:00 p.m. BST London

Gathering Two: Wednesday, April 27, 2022:

7:00 p.m. EST New York | 12:00 a.m. BST London (April 28) | Sydney 9:00 a.m. AEDT (April 28)

 

two people talking

What will we do?

This is a gathering. It’s a time when you can come together with other like-minded survivors who are unmarried widows.

You can share your experience, learn from others, and listen in. Being on camera is encouraged but not required. I do encourage you to have your mic on to chat with others. The event will not be recorded to maintain your privacy. Learning About Grief welcomes all genders, sexes, and unmarried relationships statuses.

Do you have questions? Contact me.

Now, you can join us.
Pick a session:

Gathering One

Event date: April 20, 2022

11:00 a.m. PST | 2:00 p.m. EST
7:00 p.m. BST

When signing up, you'll be prompted with a $10 reservation fee. It help us offset the costs of hosting events.

Gathering Two

Event date: April 27, 2022

4:00 PST | 7:00 p.m. EST |
Sydney 9:00 a.m. AEDT

When signing up, you'll be prompted with a $10 reservation fee. It help us offset the costs of hosting events.

(Visited 354 times, 3 visits today)